Rising from a consultative meeting with the Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL) board in Abuja, the Football Club Owners Association of Nigeria has agreed to kickstart the 2023/24 season on August 26 as recommended by the NPFL body.

In a unanimous decision reached by all 20 clubs and presented to the NPFL led by its chairman, Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye, the clubs also jettisoned the much talked about abridged league while opting for a full season of 38 straight matches to determine the league champion and Nigeria’s representatives in the CAF Champions League and Confederation Cup respectively.

Speaking at the end of the meeting, Hon Elegbeleye thanked the clubs led by Chief Okey Kpalukwu for the co-operation the NPFL board has enjoyed under his leadership, while promising to always reciprocate the kind gesture at every given opportunity.

“I want to thank the entire club owners under the leadership of Chief Okey Kpalukwu for the support and cooperation given us thus far, we’ve no doubt that together we will have a league that Nigerians will be proud of”, stated Hon Elegbeleye who doubles as 2nd Vice President Nigeria Football Federation.

In his remarks, Chief Kpalukwu assured the NPFL leadership of the Club Owners support because both parties are partners in progress.

“What we as Club Owners will guarantee the NPFL board is our cooperation as long as we are seen to be important partners and major stakeholders in the NPFL.

“I look forward to a very successful 2023/24 NPFL season”, admonished the Rivers United General Manager.

Meanwhile, the draw for the 2023/24 league season will be conducted during the NPFL board’s Annual General Meeting billed to hold on August 17 in Abuja which will be live on television.

In another development, the Club Owners have set up various committees for the smooth running of the body.

General Secretary Godwin Enakhena is to head the constitution drafting adhoc committee with Rangers of Enugu Administrative Secretary Ferdinand Ogwuarua as secretary and the chairman of Niger Tornadoes of Minna Engineer Ibrahim Dada as member.

Akwa United Chairman, Elder Paul Bassey is chairman Publicity Committee, Godwin Enakhena is secretary while Kumbi Titiloye of Kwara United is member. Other committees are Financial with Alhaji Suleiman Umar of Doma United of Gombe as chairman, he’s to be assisted by Plateau United chairman, Honourable Habila Mutla as secretary and Sunshine Stars of Akure chairman Honorable Tunde Ogunja is member.

The Welfare committee has Gombe United General Manager Alhaji Abubakar Abubakar as chairman to be assisted by Heartland of Owerri General Manager Promise Nwachukwu as Secretary while the Secretary of Bendel Insurance of Benin City Charles Ihimekpen is a member.

The post Nigeria Premier League draw holds on August 17 ahead of August 26 kick-off date first appeared on Sports Village Square.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here