With his appointment as the chairman of the Nigeria Premier League (NPL) board, former Director General of the National Sports Commission, (NSC), Gbenga Egbeleye also enters the NFF board as 2nd Vice President.

The men that control the clubs in the Nigeria Premier League have risen to salute   the  President of NFF, Ibrahim Musa Gusau on his timely constitution of a new NPFL.

Speaking on behalf of the club owners on Thursday, the chairman Chief Okey Kpalukwu noted that sustainable growth in the league can only be achieved when the right people are appointed and there is continuity.

“The Club Owners Association of Nigeria is delighted with the visionary leadership exemplified so far by the NFF President, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau on the constitution of a new board for the Nigeria Premier League and the appointment of Honorable Gbenga Elegbeleye as chairman.        “This is the reward for the great job he did with the IMC last season. As club owners we are looking forward to a symbiotic relationship when the new season commences. He’s a man driven by vision and we congratulate him and his new board.”

Kpalukwu who is on the new NPL board alongside two members of the Club Owners Association,  Suleiman Umar and Dominic Iorfa, also commended the NFF for the return of Davidson Owumi as Head of Operations alongside former IMC members that includes Mallam Mohammed Nasiru Sa’idu (Member); Poubeni Ogun (Member) and  Daniel Amokachi (Member). He prayed for a crisis free season that will see to the consolidation on the gains of last season.

It will be recalled that the club owners also had their election on Monday in Abuja where the Rivers United General Manager, Kpalukwu was elected chairman with Alhaji Suleiman Umar of Doma United of Gombe and Honourable Kunle Soname of Remo Stars of Ikenne emerging Vice chairmen North and South in the new executive committee.

Sporting Lagos chairman, Godwin Enakhena was elected General Secretary and Ferdinand Ugwuarua of Rangers International of Enugu as the body’s Coordinator.

The post NPL club owners applauds Gusau as Elegbeleye becomes NFF 2nd VP and NPL Chairman appeared first on Sports Village Square.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here