Nigeria football legends, John Mikel Obi and Mercy Akide are on the FIFA’s panels of experts for the FIFA The Best Award.

Both are among the 30-man panel that shortlisted the various candidates for The Best Awards.


Akide, a retired Super Falcons forward has her name atop of the list 11 members for the women’s category while Mikel is among the 11 that shortlisted the nominees for the men.

In the panel is also Didier Drogba of Cote d’Ivoire. His compatriot, Clémentine Touré is on the Women’s Panel.

Panel of Experts

Women’s Panel Men’s Panel Fan Award
Mercy Akide (Nigeria) Petr Cech (Czechia) DaMarcus Beasley (USA)
Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica) Didier Drogba (Cõte d’Ivoire) Heather Garriock (Australia)
Amy Duggan (Australia) Brett Emerton (Australia) Maia Jackman (New Zealand)
Isabella Echeverri (Colombia) Rio Ferdinand (England) Carmelina Moscato (Canada)
Mia Hamm (USA) Asamoah Gyan (Ghana) Roque Junior (Brazil)
Jessica Houara (France) Kaká (Brazil) Roque Santa Cruz (Paraguay)
Mana Iwabuchi (Japan) Mario Kempes (Argentina) Jean Sseninde (Uganda)
Manon Melis (Netherlands) Alexi Lalas (USA) Ian Wright (England)
Patrizia Panico (Italy) Jon Obi Mikel (Nigeria)  
Clémentine Touré (Ivory Coast) Park Ji-Sung (Korea Republic)  
Kirsty Yallop (New Zealand) Ivan Vicelich (New Zealand)  


The post Mikel Obi, Mercy Akide on panel of soccer experts for FIFA The Best appeared first on Sports Village Square.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here