The duo of Ola Aina and goalkeeper Francis Uzoho have been recalled for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations’ qualifiers last match day even as Ahmed Musa has been excluded.

The Super Eagles will on Sunday face an already eliminated Sao Tome as the Nigerian side hope to retain their leadership of the Group A.

They need just a draw to wave off any last minute upstage by second placed, but also qualified Guinea Bissau.

Ola Aina’s last competitive match with the Super Eagles is the first leg encounter with Sao Tome & Principe which the Nigerian side by a massive and record-making 10-0.

He got cautioned in the match day 2 encounter and was ineligible in the matchday 3 which was the first leg match with Guinea Bissau in Abuja. Aina, like Uzoho, was cautioned on Match day 1 against Sierra Leone in Abuja.

He also missed the return match and was not called up for the return leg match with Sierra Leone.

Uzoho got his second caution in the return leg match against Guinea Bissau in which the yellow card, like an earlier one he got, was occasioned by time-wasting.


Also invited are the on-field captain William Ekong, defender Tyronne Ebuehi and Semi Ajayi.

The midfielders are: Wilfred Ndidi and Frank Onyeka, while the attacking players include: Moses Simon, Victor Osimhen and Taiwo Awoniyi, among others.

Peseiro called up three goalkeepers (including home-based Olorunleke Ojo), eight defenders, four midfielders and eight forwards for the game, slated for the Godswill Akpabio Stadium on Sunday.


Nigeria, on 12 points from their previous five matches, are already guaranteed a place in the finals, but must earn at least a point to be sure of topping the group ahead of second-placed Guinea Bissau, who are on 10 points and play at home to Sierra Leone in Bissau.



Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)


Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy); Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent, Belgium); William Ekong (PAOK FC, Greece); Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)


Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)


Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Gift Orban (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Boniface (Bayern Leverkusen, Germany)


The post Musa dropped as Ola Aina and Uzoho return for Super Eagles’ dead rubber match with Sao Tome   appeared first on Sports Village Square.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here